The International Association for Critical Realism was established in 1997 with the basic objective of serving as a networking and facilitating resource for anyone broadly sympathetic to, or concerned with, realist philosophy and social theory. To this end IACR

  • facilitates an annual international conference
  • maintains a mailing list for news of conferences and other IACR matters; you can ask to be added to this by emailing Lene Nyhus, the General Secretary.
  • produces the Journal of Critical Realism
  • manages the award of the annual Cheryl Frank Prize for a book or article on critical realism
  • maintains a blog with current news

You can join IACR by subscribing to the Journal of Critical Realism here or renew an existing membership here. The IACR Constitution and Rules are available here.

The current office holders (2019-21) are:

  • President: Doug Porpora, Drexel University, USA
  • General Secretary: Lene Nyhus, Inland Norway University, Lillehammer, Norway
  • Treasurer: Lodve Svare, University of Tromsø, The Arctic University of Norway
  • Council:
  • Ismael Al-Amoudi, Grenoble Ecole de Management, Univ Grenoble Alpes ComUE, France
  • Johnny C. Go, Ateneo de Manila University, the Philippines
  • Monica Kjørstad, Oslo Metropolitan University, Norway
  • Urs Lindner, University of Erfurt, Germany
  • Heila Lotz-Sisitka, Rhodes University, South Africa
  • Andrea Maccarini, University of Padova, Italy
  • Ross Morrow, Technological University Sydney, Australia
  • Alan Norrie, Warwick University, UK
  • Petter Næss, University of Life Sciences, Norway
  • Tone Skinningsrud, University of Tromsø, The Arctic University of Norway
  • Krzysztof Wielecki, Stowarzyszenie Kultury i Edukacji, Warzawa, Poland