Skip to content


The International Association for Critical Realism was established in 1997 with the basic objective of serving as a networking and facilitating resource for anyone broadly sympathetic to, or concerned with, realist philosophy and social theory. To this end IACR

You can join IACR by subscribing to the Journal of Critical Realism here or renew an existing membership here. The IACR Constitution and Rules are available here.

The current office holders (2022-24) are:

  • President: Doug Porpora, Drexel University, USA
  • General Secretary: Catherine Hastings, Macquarie University, Australia
  • Treasurer: Lodve Svare, University of Tromsø, The Arctic University of Norway
  • Managing editor of the Journal of Critical Realism: Leigh Price, Rhodes University / Inland Norway University of Applied Sciences, Norway
  • Council:
  • Ismael Al-Amoudi, Grenoble Ecole de Management, Univ Grenoble Alpes ComUE, France
  • Johnny C. Go, Ateneo de Manila University, the Philippines
  • Monica Kjørstad, Oslo Metropolitan University, Norway
  • Urs Lindner, University of Erfurt, Germany
  • Heila Lotz-Sisitka, Rhodes University, South Africa
  • Andrea Maccarini, University of Padova, Italy
  • Ross Morrow, Technological University Sydney, Australia
  • Alan Norrie, Warwick University, United Kingdom
  • Petter Næss, University of Life Sciences, Norway
  • Tone Skinningsrud, University of Tromsø, The Arctic University of Norway
  • Krzysztof Wielecki, Stowarzyszenie Kultury i Edukacji, Warzawa, Poland
  • Karin Zotzmann, University of Southampton, United Kingdom
  • Jack Newman, University of Surrey, United Kingdom
  • Andrew Sayer, Lancaster University, United Kingdom