Skip to content

Winner of The Cheryl Frank Memorial Prize 2022 announced

About the Prize: The Cheryl Frank Memorial Prize is awarded annually for a book that constitutes, motivates or exemplifies the best and/or most innovative writing in or about the tradition of critical realism, published in the previous year (2021). The winner is invited to give the annual Cheryl Frank Memorial Lecture at the IACR Annual Conference or some other suitable venue. If the author wishes, the lecture will be considered for publication in the Journal of Critical Realism.

This year’s Cheryl Frank Prize Committee consisted of Ross Morrow (Chair), Monica Kjørstad and Karin Zotzmann. The Committee met on July 15th and following discussion unanimously agreed that the prize for a book published in 2021 be awarded to:

Priscilla Alderson, Critical Realism for Health and Illness Research: A Practical Introduction,Policy Press.

Alderson’s book knowledgeably and critically examines the unhealthy state of much social and interdisciplinary health research. It shows, through a wealth of diverse and often fascinating examples, how critical realism, in its original and dialectical forms, can overcome the gaps and contradictions of existing research paradigms, and improve health research, practice, policy and outcomes. It is a major contribution to the field which is outstanding in its clarity of argument, the breadth and depth of its theoretical concepts, and its practical application to research. This accessible and reflexive handbook will provide invaluable guidance not only to researchers in the social and health sciences, but also in other disciplines.

Catherine Hastings
General Secretary, IACR

%d bloggers like this: